Contact Bill Kavanaugh
at Tiger Point Marina for more information
(904) 277-2720



The Original Town of Fernandina - also known as “Old Town” - is a historic site in Fernandina Beach, Florida, which is located on Amelia Island. It is roughly bound by North 14th Street, Bosque Bello Cemetery, and Tiger Point Marina. On January 29, 1990, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. It is located north of the Fernandina Beach Historic District, known as "Downtown Fernandina."

Prior to the arrival of Europeans on Amelia Island, the Old Town site was home to Native Americans. The French, English, and Spanish all maintained a presence on Amelia Island at various times during the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries but the Spanish established Fernandina. Old Town has the unique distinction of being the last Spanish city platted in the Western Hemisphere in 1811. The plat is based on the 1573 Law of the Indies, a document utilized by the Spanish to organize new towns established during their explorations.

The area within Old Town known as Plaza San Carlos was the plaza ground in front of the Spanish Fort San Carlos, which is no longer in existence. Today, the Plaza San Carlos is maintained by the State of Florida as part of the State Park System.

997 Egans Creek Lane | Fernandina Beach, FL 32034 | (904) 277-2720 |
Copyright © 2013, Tiger Point Marina